Skip to content
July 25, 2013 / jenwithboys

Is this what I’m supposed to do?

I’ve made peace with my life. That is, I understand that there are certain limitations in place that are natural for a person who decided to live her life backwards. I mean, let’s not go crazy–“decided” is sort of a strong word. No, it really wasn’t a decision, more like an acceptance. Like, “Oh, dear–that happened”.
Anywhoo, this is not meant to be a vague diatribe on the single mom life. No. Rather, I want to be clear. It’s weird. It’s so weird in so many ways. But, right now, I’m thinking of my “lower class” status and how, truly, I don’t think I fit in. Now, I am going to try really hard not to be judgmental. It’s just that I’m tired of sticking out like a sore thumb EVERYWHERE.
For instance:
1. Am I supposed to have bright blonde striped highlights?
2. ” paint my eyebrows on?
3. ” encourage my children to live at home with me forever?
4. ” have a match.com profile?
5. ” think the guy at daycare with a silver tooth and a no hubcaps on his Crown Victoria is cute?
6. ” stay at the “All Star” hotels?
7. ” curse like a sailor?
8. ” stop going to the dentist?

Just wondering.

Leave a Reply

