Skip to content
October 14, 2013 / jenwithboys

Jinx

What would it be like to spend your day doing something that you really loved? 

Last night, my boys asked me what my favorite thing to do was. Without looking up from Kindle, I answered, “play with you guys”. 

“Ugh”. They said in unison. “We knew you would say that.” they again said in unison. After a well deserved shaming of “Jinx”, and when they were again free to talk, they both started asking what I would do if I could do anything in the world. 

I don’t know. I really don’t know. I mean, if we’re talking anything, it would probably be to drive around Europe on a Vespa, occasionally stopping to have a latte, food or glass of wine at an outside cafe. Or to read books laying sprawled out on a blanket in the sun. Maybe owning a home in the Tuscan countryside, spending my days painting and shooing chickens out of my kitchen. -Wait, I think that was a movie. 

So, this begs the question–do we work to live or live to work? Because right now, I’m living to work, and working to survive. And it’s hard. And I’m tired. 

But I haven’t the faintest idea how to change any of it. 

 

Leave a Reply

